Ohio Governor Signs Nuclear Bailout Bill Into Law; RPS Gutted

Posted July 23rd, 2019 by SRECTrade.

On July 23rd, the Ohio House of Representatives approved legislation (HB 6) to subsidize two ailing nuclear power plants owned by bankrupt FirstEnergy Solutions and eliminate the state’s Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS) at 8.5% in 2026. Governor Mike DeWine signed the bill into law shortly thereafter.

The Bill provides an average of $150 million per year in funding to the two nuclear plants from April 2021 through the end of 2026. In addition, the Bill will deliver $50 million per year in funding to two large, coal-fired power plants owned by Ohio Valley Electric Corp., through additional rate-payer charges.

With regards to the state’s RPS, the Bill lowers the renewable energy target from 12.5% to 8.5% by 2026, and eliminates the solar-carve out all-together from 2020 onward. As such, solar assets currently registered in the OH SREC market will no longer produce OH SRECs after 2019. Please feel free to reach out to the SRECTrade team for more information regarding this transition and impact on your eligibility.

Comments are closed.